To Lead is To Serve

Standard

by: Iya Oracion

CSI To Lead is to Serve

 

Last Saturday, I attended a college preparatory talk on the connection of leadership and service. The talk was entitled, “To Lead is to Serve”; being a Woodrose girl, I immediately recognized the phrase as it was part of the school’s vision mission. I knew that Margaux Antonio, the speaker, was also a Woodrose alumna so I was quite interested to see how she would use the phrase during her talk.

 

IMG_1759

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Margaux Antonio starting her presentation with a catchy line

 

IMG_1760

Listening with much concentration

 

IMG_1762

One of the more striking photos that displayed the difference between being a boss and a leader

 

She talked of her own experience in the student government of UA&P, and encouraged us to be leaders in college. But then she began to talk about the difference between a leader and a boss. She said that a leader knew his people and motivated them to do their tasks while he did his, but a boss merely told others what to do. This struck me because I’d never really separated the words “leader” and “boss” before. I realized that leaders are not just those with high positions. Leaders are found everywhere. The separation of the two made the phrase clear: to lead really is to serve. The talk ultimately made clear what Woodrose had been teaching me about leadership, and I’m glad I was able to attend this CSI session.

 

IMG_1764

All of us take a picture after the talk

 

About the Writer

Iya Oracion is a College Freshman at the University of the Philippines Diliman. She is taking up BS Community Nutrition and attended activities at Narra since she was in High School.

One response »

Leave a comment